Login 
View unanswered posts View active topics  

Delete all board cookies

All times are UTC

New Topic Post Reply  [ 10 posts ] 
Previous topic | Next topic 
 Post subject: Sticky grass
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:01 pm 

I would like to know why sticky grass inside and around the airfields is so lethal in the game. Right now if you run off the runway with any speed at all wheels down it usually results in a nose over and instant death. That is fine if it is accurate but it has ended many an otherwise successful night for players during S3s. I'm not a pilot so I have no real world experience to draw on but is this really accurate?

<S>

Oberst Briar

JG51 XO

Post subject: Re: Sticky grass
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:32 pm 

Instant flip over, no, especially on a field. LW planes were designed to land on prepared grass fields, front lines blitzkrieg and all that. Were instant flip overs in 190s? Those seem to have ridiculously sensitive reaction over the pitch axis when it either goes off runway or the smallest amount of brake pressure applied. It could be going 20mph with the stick back and still flip right over.

I'm not a certified pilot either, but extreme failure for slipping off the runway seems excessive, ground looping perhaps, or damaged gear maybe, but sudden explosion?

When in doubt, keep it tween the lines.

<S>
Zinhwk

HADES Flight
475th FG (v)
zinhwk@fly-jg77.com

Windows 10.1
AMD A10 6800K Black Edition (OC 4.2Ghz)
16 GB DDR3
GeForce GTX 770Ti
1TB SATA Western Digital "Blue" HDD
24" LG LED 1080p
CH Controls

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:02 am 

My thoughts also. So in a no flaps landing I will always come in wheels up from now on. Gotta play the game I guess. Last frame I rolled off the end of the runway and immediately died.

Oberst Briar

JG51 XO

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:28 pm